How to Enter

  1. Teachers should select up to three (3) entries from their school to be submitted for State judging, using the Audio Visual and Essay Marking Guidelines as a guide. (NB: Any number of entries are permitted at school level, however the school is asked to use the Guidelines provided to determine up to 3 top entries to send to the State/Territory Affiliate for judging.)
  2. Submit three (3) hard-copy duplicate copies of each entry, with each one accompanied by a hard-copy duplicate official Cover Sheet. Your State Affiliate will not accept electronic or faxed entries.  
  3. Audiovisual entries should be supplied on USB, accompanied by cover sheet and 400 word rationale.  Three copies of this are also required to be mailed to the state affliate listed below.  These will not be accepted via email. 
  4. Send to your State or Territory Coordinator by Friday 8 November 2019. See below for your State Affiliate’s contact information.
  5. If you wish to receive Certificates of Participation for your students please download the Certificate of Participation – School Order Form and return it to:
    Simpson Prize Competition Secretariat
    C/O National Capital Educational Tourism Project
    PO Box 1148
    Dickson ACT 2602

Where to send your entries


History Teachers’ Association of New South Wales
PO Box 219, Annandale NSW 2038
Contact: Bea Cartlidge
tel: 02 9518 4940


Queensland History Teachers’ Association
PO Box 1029, New Farm QLD 4005
Contact: Carmel Harman
tel: 0418 764 574


History Teachers’ Association of South Australia
PO Box 268, Fullarton SA 5063
Contact: Paul Foley
tel: 08 8334 4200
fax: 08 8364 3153


Tasmanian History Teachers’ Association
c/o Rose Bay High School
Kaoota Rd
Lindisfarne TAS 7015
Contact: Suzanne Pattinson
tel: 03 6242 9299


Geography and History Teachers’ Association of the Northern Territory
PO Box 41306, Casurina NT 0810
Contact: Charleen Conroy
tel: 08 8983 7924


History Teachers’ Association of Victoria
c/o St Leonard’s College
163 South Road, Brighton East Vic 3187
Contact: Ashley Wood
tel: 03 9909 9300


History Teachers’ Association of Western Australia
PO Box 1145, Scarborough WA 6922
Contact: Ian Murray
tel: 08 9276 7977
fax: 08 9276 7977


ACT History Teachers’ Association
Marist College Canberra
PO Box 727
Mawson ACT 2607
Contact: Elizabeth McGinnis
tel: 02 6298 7200

Any questions or problems?

Please contact the Simpson Prize Competition Secretariat by email: or by phone: 02 6162 4460