Due to extraordinary and unprecedented circumstances we have had to postpone the Western Front Commemorative Study Tour, the 3-day Canberra Study Tour and the Award Ceremony for the 2020 program. All of these events will be postponed to dates later in the year to be confirmed.

The Simpson Prize Advisory Committee and the History Teachers Association of Australia congratulates the finalists in the Simpson Prize Competition 2020.  

2020 Winners

(Winners essays can be accessed by clicking on the student name and school)

2020 Runners-up

  • Australian Capital Territory  Maria Ega Setiawan, Telopea Park School
  • New South Wales  Jordan Huang, Shore School
  • Northern Territory Tahlia Curran, Casuarina Senior College
  • Queensland Ella Hewson, Saint Monica’s College
  • South Australia Imogen Grbin, Loreto College
  • Tasmania Amelia Bradfield, Launceston Church Grammar School
  • Victoria Saffron Cookesley, Star of the Sea College
  • Western Australia Fatima Merchant, Perth Modern School

2020 Teachers chaperones

  • Tasmania Kate McCulloch, St Patrick’s College Launceston
  • South Australia Kellie Woolford, Underdale High School