Past Results


On Monday 18 March 2019, the finalists of the Simpson Prize Competition received their certificates and medallions from Dr Brendan Nelson, Director of the Australian War Memorial at the Australian War Memorial theatre.

2019 Winners

Australian Capital Territory Jett Aplin, Telopea Park School
New South Wales Mari Watkins, Roseville College
Northern Territory Jacinta Saynor, Dripstone Middle School
Queensland Shanelle van der Merwe, Citipointe Christian College
South Australia Montana Foster, Wudinna Area School
Tasmania Erin Massey, St Patrick’s College
Victoria Benjamin English, Ballarat and Clarendon Colleges
Western Australia Aurelia Thomson, St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls

2019 Runners-up

Australian Capital Territory Caitlyn Crick, Merici College
New South Wales Nathan  Spencer, Shore
Northern Territory Silvana Goldbach-Eggert, Katherine High School
Queensland Amelia Nickles-Ralph, Kenmore State High School
South Australia Anastasia Martini, Temple Christian College
Tasmania Neve Clippingdale, St Patrick’s College
Victoria Holly Williams Camberwell Girls’ Grammar School
Western Australia Catherine Pile, St Mary’s Anglican Girls School


On Monday 26 March 2018, the finalists of the Simpson Prize Competition received their certificates and medallions from the Assistant Minister Vocational Education and Training, the Hon Karen Andrews MP at Parliament House,Canberra

2018 Winners

  • Australian Capital Territory  Samantha Trafford, Merici College
  • New South Wales  Winona Lu, Abbotsleigh
  • Northern Territory  Charlotte Pickering, Katherine High School
  • Queensland  Rachael Leeson, St Monica’s College
  • South Australia  Alyssa Siebert, Lock Area School
  • Tasmania   Kate Sheahan, Deloraine High School
  • Victoria  Sara Hinton, Ave Maria College
  • Western Australia  Daniel Docker, Holy Cross College

2018 Runners-up

  • Australian Capital Territory  Leo Ng, Marist College
  • New South Wales  Harrison Ormaechea, Shore School
  • Northern Territory Caitlin Burt, MacKillop Catholic College
  • Queensland Rayan, Bakker, Pimlico State High School
  • South Australia  Eliza, Mills, Seymour College
  • Tasmania Caleb Paine, Rose Bay High School
  • Victoria Stephen Kanavoutsos, St Leonard’s College
  • Western Australia Catherine Pile, St Mary’s Anglican Girls School

2018 Teachers chaperones

  • Australian Capital Territory Liza Laird, Merici College
  • Queensland Glenn Edwards, Pimlico State High School

2017 Simpson Prize Results


Australian Capital Territory            Elizabeth, Spollard, Burgmann Anglican School

New South Wales                          Lucinda, Hogan, Loreto Kirribilli

Norther Territory                            Finlay, Dale, Palmerston Senior College

Queensland                                   Riley, Smithers, Pimlico State High School

South Australia                              Charlotte, Matthias, Loreto College

Tasmania                                       Sasha , Massey, St Patrick’s College

Victoria                                           Katia, Testarotta, Camberwell Girls Grammar School

Western Australia                          Jae Fapani Brieffies, Willetton SHS


Australian Capital Territory            Samuel Melhuish, Marist College Canberra

New South Wales                          Kefah, Farache,  Asquith Boys High School

Northern Territory                          Lachlan, Anderson, Darwin Middle School

Queensland                                   Rachel, Leeson, St Monica’s College

South Australia                              Hillary, Thursby,  St Mary’s College

Tasmania                                       Madeleine, Pearn, St Patrick’s College

Victoria                                           Sabrina, Tse, Camberwell Girls Grammar School

Western Australia                          Char Min, Ng, Willetton SHS

2016 Simpson Prize Results

The 2016 Winners, Runners-Up and Teacher Chaperones received their awards at a Presentation Ceremony at Parliament House on 17 March 2016.

The Hon. Dan Tehan MP, Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, presented the students with their awards, saying, “The Simpson Prize is a prestigious national history competition and whether a winner or a runner up, all the students who have participated should be very proud of their achievements.”

Mr Paul Foley, Simpson Prize Chair, said at the Presentation Ceremony: “The 2016 students are to be praised for their ability to reach insightful conclusions illustrated by carefully chosen evidence and sophisticated use of the Simpson Prize 2016 AWM Sources. These essays reflect a genuine connection to the commemorative experience and the tragedy of armed conflict for all regardless of gender, nationality, friend or foe. The final response by these students is a product of discipline, diligence and a passion for understanding our nation’s past and the role played by so many young Australians in the service of their country. The sacrifice made on a distant peninsula 101 years ago, where at the water’s edge Pte John Simpson Kirkpatrick lies peacefully, like so many of his generation, remembered not forgotten.

We would like to thank the following teachers who accompanied the 16 students during their Canberra visit for the 2016 Prize: Suzanne Pattinson, Ian Murray, Annika Evans, Carmel Harman and Liz McGinnis.

2016 Winners

State Student School
Australian Capital Territory  Annie Liao
Radford College
New South Wales  Lauren Park
Pymble Ladies’ College
Northern Territory  Morgan Gurry
Darwin Middle School
Queensland  Hilary Briggs
Stuartholme School
South Australia Hibra Shujaat
Mitcham Girls High School
Tasmania Sarah Pilgrim
Rose Bay High School
Victoria Felix Cousins Camberwell High School
Western Australia Samai King
Cue Primary and Gifted and Talented Online

2016 Runners-up

State Student School
Australian Capital Territory  Angus Dale
Marist College Canberra
New South Wales  Juliette Marchant
Loreto Kirribilli
Northern Territory  Bryn Pickering
Katherine High School
Queensland  Megghann Thomas
Mt St Michael’s College
South Australia Samuel Doering Faith Lutheren College
Tasmania  Sophia Bellears
Rose Bay High School
Victoria  Claire Corbel Flinders Christian Community College
Western Australia  Ella Girdler St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls

2016 Teacher Chaperones

Charleen Conroy, Katherine High School, Northern Territory

Cendall Cowan, Lock Area School, South Australia